The National Championship

The National Championship

Cameron Bailes, Editor

The National Championship, the most anticipated moment in college football was between the LSU Tigers and the Clemson Tigers. This game was surrounded by hype and nerves surrounding these teams. The number three team in the nation, Clemson Tigers, and the number one team in the nation, LSU Tigers, faced off on Monday, January 13th at the Mercedez Benz Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana. Many speculated that the National Championship should be moved because of the “home field advantage” the LSU Tigers had only been about an hour away from New Orleans. The National Championship ended with a score of 42-25, with the LSU Tigers stepping up big time to win the National Championship.

The game was filled with highlights and big plays from each team. With Clemson starting off hot at the beginning of the game with an early 17-7 lead, LSU kept working hard and scored 21 points in the second quarter. At the end of the first half, LSU was leading 28-17, and from then on didn’t let up, scoring 13 points in the second half holding Clemson to just eight points and sealed them off for the win. LSU’s quarterback Joe Burrow, who got National Championship MVP along with Linebacker Patrick Queen as the defensive MVP. Joe Burrow finished off the game with 463 Passing yards, 58 rushing yards and combined for 6 touchdowns. Patrick Queen finished the game with 6 tackles, 2 assisted tackles, and 0.5 sacks. Patrick Queen had many tackles in some serious situations in the game, which helped out the defense getting stops to let Heisman winner Joe Burrow take over the game.

Trevor Lawrence, who before the National Championship was 26-0 as a starting Quarterback, only had 18 completed passes on 37 pass attempts for 234 passing yards. The Clemson Offense was stunned by the LSU defense after the two early touchdowns by Clemson. On the other side, the LSU offense was electric led by Joe Burrow, Clyde Edwards-Helaire, and the always dominant receiving core led my Ja’Marr Chase and Justin Jefferson. Thaddeus Moss and Ja’Marr Chase led the way with two touchdowns, followed by Terrance Marshall with one and Joe Burrow had a rushing touchdown. The LSU Tigers are 2019-2020 National Champs. Geaux Tigers.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email